Acryllic Clear Coat

Howdy,

I am in the process of refinishing my brother-in-law's Fender guitar. Please keep in mind I have never done this before, so I need to ask some really dumb questions.

My brother-in-law took on the task of sanding and putting on a coat of gray primer on the guitar body. The guitar has a pick guard, so we ended up sanding this as well to remove the shine. We then started out with acryllic based airbrush, and painted the entire body. I then used acryllic paints and a brush to paint a shark (Bruce from the movie Nemo) on the guitar.

Everything looks cool so far. We are now down to putting on the lacquer. But I need to order some, sooooo....

1. What type should I use? I want to have a clear finish on this as much as possible. I thought I saw something about an acryllic lacquer. Do I get this from an autobody store?

2. Is it okay to clear over the pick guard as well? Did I screw up painting it?

3. Is there anything that I mentioned in this email that raises your eye brows? Any red flags, gotchas, or things you need to watch out for?

Any assistance here would be very much appreciated since I am in uncharted waters.

Sincerely,

Pete

PWeigler@Yahoo.com

Did you paint the body seperate from the pickgaurd? Or did you have to paint the pickgaurd while it was on to get your design? Krylon CrystalClear is a good easy topcoat but you have to be sure it will not react with the airbrushed paint you have already put on.

1. What type should I use? I want to have a clear finish on this as much as possible. I thought I saw something about an acryllic lacquer. Do I get this from an autobody store?

2. Is it okay to clear over the pick guard as well? Did I screw up painting it?

3. Is there anything that I mentioned in this email that raises your eye brows? Any red flags, gotchas, or things you need to watch out for?