Ibanez Style Vine Inlay

gun

Hi friends I have just received a purpleheart thin board (for the stem), I already have my perloid vine cutted (leafs). I have Dremel, router base, bits (2 mm, 1mm and 0,8 mm).

I begin with that perloid pre cutted cuz it's my first attempt, I did read different tutorials but I got some confusion.

However my first problem is:

The seller said a thick of 3 mm but I discoverd it's thick 3,8 mm (perloid inlay).

Thin purplehart board (1/8") but it really is 5 mm.

Both eBay. The inlay and board are great but I don't want inlay down 3,8 mm in my fretboard, I think is too much. Can I route down 3mm and in the sanding - filing process level it (sticking out 0,8 mm)?

For the stem have I to ask for a thickness sanding to 3 mm to a sawmill? Or If I route down 5 mm the blank fretboard (it is 7 mm thick), glue the wood stem, then radiusing the fretboard and achieve a 5 mm radiused fretboard, would it be better this way? In this case I can easy slot the fretboard, I will saw thru fretboard and stem togheter (of course first to radiusing).

BTW for the stem, now I have all in my hands, I have no idea on how cut out the stem from the purpleheart board. In its entire length or many parts?

I have a plastic thin sheet template for the vine. I could use that for cut out the stem.

Finally any advice on glue is fine. I have a clear slow setting epoxy but I did read so much different thing: epoxy, CA, Hot stuff, franklin hide glue etc.

Thanks everyone

Gian

Ciao Gian,

I will attempt answer your question with my limited experience