Where Do You Guys Learn To Build Amps?

Hughes

hey all, just wondering im very new to all this and i know how to read schematics but i was wondering if you guys went to a special class to learn to make amps/effects. i really awnt to know how to make a line 6 spider amp and i have a schematic for it but how would i take on such a big task and if its even worth it, like will it be cheaper then a real line 6?

You know I don't have any experience building amps. I am like you, just doing some research. I do have experience building guitars though. When people ask me what they should start off building I always tell them to build what they want to build. If it is more complex then you just need to take your time and research everything. The forums on both sites are filled with good advice from people who have built many amps. As long as you do enought research to start the project and have specific questions (good: how much power do I need to run 4 EL34s? bad: how do I build an amp?) then I think you'll be fine. As with any project like this please understand the lethal voltages involved before you start.

Are you talking the Line6 Spider II amp? If you can find a schematic and can understand it enough to build one then, yes, go for it. I was looking at tube amp projects that are a little more simple and without any onboard digitial effects. This is the type of amp that the links I sent deal with.

ok about the voltages, i dont want to electricute my self so how would i know how far to go? also is the price of building one going to be similar to the line 6 spider II 212 amp? becuase if it is i might as well buy one.

Edited by Hughes

I'd suggest you start by doing some reading at the sites David suggested. I'd also consider any kind of moddling amp wildly ambitious for a first timer with apparently zero electronics experience.