A Bunch Of Questions

Vultite

My brother gave me his Epiphone Les Paul. I want to replace the pickups on it. I want to go EMGs. I think I will get an 81 & 60.

Now heres where I have some questions.

Pot lengths.

Do I need to get extended length pots for the body of the Les Paul? If so what type of pot? Arent you supposed to use a lower value one like 50k or something?

Kill Switches.

I want a kill switch. Its just my personal need to have something to instantly mute the guitar. How would I go about wiring one in there? Also is it possible to install a switch that will disconnect the battery so I can leave it plugged in without worrying? This is going to be my "beater guitar" so I want to be lazy.

Dual Batteries.

I want to try this second battery thing. How do I go about installing that?

Im sorry to sound so hopeless about this, but electronics where I have very little knowledge. Sorry for asking so much, graphics is just my area. (I'm going to build a custom explorer. I have a high-res blue print in photoshop. Thats where I know what I'm doing)

Edited by Vultite

1: No u dont need longer pots, it only Gibson LP u need longer pots for as the controls are mounted on a large metal plate.

2: Yes. Easy just wire a little switch that sends the Hot/Output to Earth(ground) and yes just use another switch to disconnect the battery.

3:Easy, remember hidh school physics about series and parallel? Just wire the batteries in series.

1: No u dont need longer pots, it only Gibson LP u need longer pots for as the controls are mounted on a large metal plate.

2: Yes. Easy just wire a little switch that sends the Hot/Output to Earth(ground) and yes just use another switch to disconnect the battery.

3:Easy, remember hidh school physics about series and parallel? Just wire the batteries in series.

I never had physics, I spent most of my days in rooms that had things like oil paints and stuff like that in them. I've never had any electronics classes ever. :-(

Hi Vultite