Removing Old Fender Fret Board.

I have no experience removing and replacing these old freeboards on Strats. A friend of mine has his first guitar he got which he says is a 1959 Strat. I haven’t bothered to look at the numbers to verify the age but it does have the curved fretbaord on the radiused neck.

Sadly in the 80's when he was an Yngwie freak he scalloped the entire thing and now he is kicking himself for it. The guitar is past the point for restoring for value purposes; he just wants to be able to play it again.

I searched around a bit but didn’t really find much info about removing these things and replacing them. Is there any one here with experience in this? IF so, could you point toward a tutorial or some tips and tricks?

Thanks-

**Im thinking the easiest way to replace it is to build a jig so my router can radius the bottom of the board, then Ill have to radius the top with the router flipped around.....

Thanks for posting the links to Kevan's tutorials. I was going to do that same thing.

My additional thoughts are, a '59 Strat scalloped! :D

It may be easier to just get another neck and slap it on there rather than going through the fretboard replacement. I can't remember when Fender started radiusing the backs of the fretboards. I don't think they started that until the 60's. If the fretboard is radiused, Kevan's tutorials will only be the starting point. You'll have a mess to get a new fretboard attached and to fit correctly.

I would NOT destroy the neck with a router just to replace the fretboard!

Get fretboard replaced by an experienced tech/repairman/restorer. The value will inevitably take a knock because of the replaced board, but not nearly as much of a knock as it will if you accidentally chip a huge chunk out of the neck.

Valuable vintage instruments are *not* the place to try experimental repair techniques.

Sometimes I think people dont read very well on here.