Neck Modification

deanbo

A few days ago i bought myself a Peavey Wolfgang in almost unplayed cond for only £220 and am very,very pleased with it.

The neck is often said to be wide,well it's nowhere near as wide as a Warlock platinum pro i have which i'm shaving down a little and rounding over the edges.

But here's my question.I have a Douggie Wilkes Slut,very HM single bridge schaller bucker and trem and very good except the neck is a little bit TOO SLIM.

Has anyone ever Widened a neck before ? I only need about 1/8 inch in total and it'll be just right.The neck has NO BINDING and was wondering what the best way

to solve this prob would be.I could easily route the edges for binding and get a bit creative with blending it in.I am about to re-fret it so i don't have to pull the frets as i've already done that and thought this would be a good opportunity.I just need the fingerboard to be a little wider not the whole neck.

Or is there some time-honoured method that i should use to accomplish this task ?

"The Slut"[that's it's real name] isn't worth much and i've modded it a lot already so don't worry about me screwing something up that costs and i'm pretty good with woodwork as i have my own little workshop that was the spare bedroom :D

So i'm open to any ideas or suggestions and i know i could make another neck but apart from that one thing the neck is great,so i would rather modify it as i like it and it suits my hands.Just needs to be a little wider.Thanks everyone.

I haven’t tried this personally, but I think that this might work.

First a few notes:

This method works only on bolt on necks

This method requires some skill with tools. If you don’t have it, pls stay away from this method, or at least practise on scrap.

You need a router table or similar.