Guitar Nuts

Caveat: I've never done this, and I'm not a pro with a pro recommendation

In an interview with a luthier that I once read, a fellow did exactly that-- used 'cured' beef bone. So it should be doable.

Now, the better question-- given the cheap price of bone blanks, would you truly want to cut the blank yourself and work from that? Not sure if you'd get much precision, and depending on the tools, you could end up with a difficult job. Plus, burning bone (it'll get hot from the cutting tools you use) stinks.

I can understand why you'd want to try... I've seen my dog's bones lying around and have thought the same thing. :D But then someone said to me what I just said to you, and it changed my mind. It'd be OK for 'bragging rights' if it turned out well ("I made this from nothing but one of ol' Pete's bones, and it sounds GREAT!") but beyond that you're better off getting a bone blank.

Greg

This can absolutely be done. I'm actually hoping to be starting this in a month or so on my first build. I just need to locate some good cow bone.

Once you've found this cowbone you'll need to clean out it's marrow. You can do this either via the dog method, or with a straightened coat hanger. Once this bit is done you need to immerse it in some water. You have three options here you can mix in some ammonia, dishwashing detergent or leave the water au naturel. The ammonia method works best, and fastest but in order to do it you'll need a good exhaust hood above your stove.

Once you've decided which method to use bring the liquid to a boil, and then reduce the heat and simmer. 30-40 minutes if you're using the ammonia/water mixture, 50-90 minutes soap/water mixture or up to two hours if you're using plain old water -- the benefit to this method is you'll end up with a nice soup stock once you're done. The point of the boiling process is to cook away the soft tissue and begin the degreasing process.