Removing Vinyl Decal On Headstock

Stiffy

I put on this vinyl decal on my headstock. Unfortunately it was off center to left by about a quarter of a inch. What is the safest way to remove it without messing up the laquer finish underneath the decal?

If you haven't laquered over it yet, peel away at it with your finger nail. If it breaks up, use a hairdryer NOT A HEAT GUN) to gently warm it and soften the glue. When the vinyl os gone, there may be some glue residue. If there is, put some white spirit or meths on it and give it afew sec to soak - the glue will turn to snot and will be removable with a clean rag. If there's any left then, just repeat.

BTW I know this as I'm a sign writer - I do this daily and it's the best way to remove WITHOUT surface damage.

What Chunkie said. In the future, if you want to put a sticker on and would like some measure of safety before commitment, do what the car guys do:

Mix some water with one drop of liquid dish soap.

Spray the surface to be stickered lightly with the water.

Place sticker on surface, and move it around gently until it sits where you want it.

When the sticker is in place, press it down, driving the water out from underneath it. You can use a credit card or semi-hard straight edge to drive out any air bubbles.

Also, you can tape off/around the area you want to put the stucker on so that you have a good idea where to put it before applying it.

Remember the Alamo, and God Bless Texas...

I put on this vinyl decal on my headstock. Unfortunately it was off center to left by about a quarter of a inch. What is the safest way to remove it without messing up the laquer finish underneath the decal?