Routing/guide Bearing Question

AVAVAV

I'm new to routing so any help would be much appreciated...

I have a hardtail strat which I would like to rout for a vintage tremolo.

My question has to do with the proper bit and guide bearing to use.

Specifically, I would like to start routing the tremolo cavity from the top surface of the guitar but am unsure how to ensure keeping the walls straight once you get deeper than the template.

I would imagine a guide bearing comes into play but I'm unsure how this all works.

Any bit/guide recommendations and/or technique explanations?

Thanks very much in advance!

Al

I have the 2HP Ryobi plunge router if that info helps.

To actually answer the question the bearing on the bit follows the template until it reaches the bottom of the template. From there it just follows the edge left by the previous cut.

The bit looks like this

I would suggest a thicker template made from 3/4" MDF or plywood. This way the first cut with the router is not so deep as to bog down the router.

You could do as he says clear out some material with a forsener (i know thats spelled wrong) bit. I dont bother personally. Its just as fast to use the router.

Thanks for both your replies...I think I've got to the bottom of my problem.

Originally I had purchased a Ryobi 1/2" straight bit with a 1/4" shank (and no guide bearing). I returned this today and instead got a Porter-Cable 1/2" straight bit with a 1/2" shank (also no guide bearing). My router will take both shank sizes.

This is what I ended up with tonight:

http://www.porter-cable.com/index.asp?e=3399&p=5393

Guitar Guy - thank for the link you provided. These are the bits I had been looking for but could not seem to find!