Help A Beginner...

X-Ray

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and have some questions that some of the experts here can hopefully answer. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have a Fender MusicMaster Bass that I bought a few years back. I love how it sounds and plays, but its got some wear on the body (big chips, dings and scratches in the paint) that I've been contemplating on fixing.

My questions are as follows:

1. Will disassembling the guitar in order to fix it up affect how it plays when I put it back together? I don't want to jeopardize the sound...

2. The chips in the paint reveal a nice wood underneath. Ideally I would like to strip the original paint and just keep the natural wood finish. I saw on this website the tutorial on how to strip paint by sanding, which seems straight forward enough. But I couldn't find any information about how to coat or refinish that wood (to make it look similar to those vintage P-bass or Telecasters). Can anyone point me to a website or source that will show me how to do this?

3. Any tips on how to remove the rust from the bridge and tuners? I've used vinegar on my chrome bike, but I'm not sure that will work here...

Thanks a ton,

X-Ray

My questions are as follows:

1.  Will disassembling the guitar in order to fix it up affect how it plays when I put it back together?  I don't want to jeopardize the sound...

2.  The chips in the paint reveal a nice wood underneath.  Ideally I would like to strip the original paint and just keep the natural wood finish.  I saw on this website the tutorial on how to strip paint by sanding, which seems straight forward enough.  But I couldn't find any information about how to coat or refinish that wood (to make it look similar to those vintage P-bass or Telecasters).  Can anyone point me to a website or source that will show me how to do this?

3.  Any tips on how to remove the rust from the bridge and tuners?  I've used vinegar on my chrome bike, but I'm not sure that will work here...