Intonation Question

Hi all, I'm new here so bear with me. I've been playing for 20 years or so but had a break of 12 years where I didn't own a guitar and rarely played, now I'm getting back into it, don't know what the hell I was thinking when I stopped. I've got a beat up (very beat up) Epiphone piece of crap I got from a friend for literally next to nothing that needs a lot of work. I couldn't tell you what it is because it doesn't have a name, Epiphone sent me an email telling me what it was called and it was basically just a number. Really it's little better then a Harmony Sears guitar, I used to have one of those (my first guitar) so I know how bad they are, this one is better then that but not by much. The Epiphone retailed for $80 US when new many years ago.

It's got dents and dings galore and had a nasty bow in the neck when I got it. Unpotted soapbar pickups, some strange tremolo style bridge that I've never seen before, dented frets and cheap-o tuners. Sounds like a perfect "project guitar" to me! So here's my long term plan. I'll get to the intonation question, trust me.

First, replace the body. I've always wanted to build a guitar but never had the nerve to do it. I figure here's a good excuse to start small and I won't worry too much if I make a mess of things. The body now isn't plywood, but it's nothing fancy either, also, it's thin, about 1.25 -1.5 inches, I didn't measure it. I figure I'll make a new body from a blank closer to 1.75-2 inches thick.

After that I'll sand and refinish the neck hopefully removing the majority of the dings and dents and then refret it. Replace some hardware, pot the pickups and hopefully have a half decent guitar. Maybe then I'll be ready (or prove to myself that I'm not) to try building one from scratch.