Gouges

Ledzendrix1128

Which is better regular handles or palm handles on gouges  

12 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

carving guitar tops

- adding the carves inside the horns that is (like on PRS horns). Not sure what i want to use to do the gradual contours... a spokeshave is good you think?... If you cant tell im pretty new to carving

BTW - yesterday i bought a swiss made gouge from woodcraft for $40. I used it doing a carve on a piece of ash just to see how it feels, and i got pretty good results, its nice and sharp... I learned how to also avoid getting my knuckles all bloody from banging them against the wood.

Edited by Ledzendrix1128

The ones you linked to are too small to carve a top. I've been using 1" #7 bent gouge on a violin I'm making:

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=...cat=1,130,43701

The bent feature keeps my knuckles from touching the wood while carving. If you want to add the access curve like on the treble horn of a PRS, I think a rasp would be better. For the re-curve around the edge, where it goes down then back up into the main arching, a scraper might work really well, that's what I used on my violin.

I think a spokeshave would be difficult to use, not the right shape of work for the tool.

Also, read up on 'scary sharp' for getting your gouges deadly sharp.

Personally, I found these to be very helpful, too:

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=...680&cat=1,41182