Absolute Beginner Needing Help And Advice

Hey guys,

I am totally new to all of this building malarkey and need help from all you experienced smart guys out there.

Basically, I am going off to uni September next year and want to build a guitar as a final project for me and my Dad before I go, just for something we can spend time together doing cause I'm gonna miss my old man. :D

All I have decided on so far is the pickups I plan to put in, they are bare knuckle miracle man (humbucker) pickups.

I don't know what to use to make the body, how to do it or anything like that.

Any help or advice would be very welcome, I have read the tutorials on this site and have the book reccomended in the solid body tutorial but that's all my knowledge and experience.

So in all honesty what do you guys think my chances of success are? I think I will buy a pre built neck as it is my first build and a neck is too easy to screw up.

So if you have any advice on wood, tools, design, suppliers, anything would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou very much!

Russ

i think you should either build a les paul or a strat as they are both classy,but since its your first build maybe a tele or a strat, still classy just much easier than a les paul,woods: Les paul=Mahogany+ Maple , Strat= Alder, Tele=Ash/ Maple (not what they need to be made of just what the factories often make them out of)

Hey man, thanks for the advice. Not sure what I was going to do for the design yet, but I was actually planning on doing a unique shape. Do you think that is too optimistic for a first build?

We both already have quite competent woodworking skills so the cutting shaping etc willbe no problem.

Out of interest does anyone know how deep I need the body to be to have plenty of space for the cavities? I was going to go for about 4cm but just thought one of you might have some of your wisdom to impart to a youngster :D