Changing Strings.

With buying a new guitar, I realized how dull my older (year and a half old) one was sounding. I figured it was time to change the strings.

As it was my first Edge Pro Tremolo string change it took me a while to get everyhing back in order......and the sound of the guitar is like day and night.

I know professionals tend to change their strings every two weeks, but I'm no professional........maybe play an hour a day, so I figured I could wait a little longer.

My question now. What is your experiences with string changes. How often?? And what makes strings go bad??? I figure the moisture and salt in the sweat of your fingers has something to do with it???

Just curious.

Some answers I found here

It depends on how often you play, how acidic your sweat is, and how clean you keep them. But a year and a half is a little too long :D

I only get to play 1-2 times a week and my sweat doesn't seem to corrode the strings, so I'll go from 2 to 3 months between changes. Usually I'll know it's time when I notice the intonation and tuning stability starting to deteriorate.

My son plays a lot more than I do and his sweat is more acidic, so his go dead a lot faster.

Mike

ps - If you play acoustic, we've found that Dean Markley Alchemy strings sound really, really good and they last a lot longer. Of course, they cost twice as much :D

For guitar, I would tend to replace strings every month or so, depending on how much you play. On my bass, however, I can usually go for about 2 months before they get to the point where I can't get my tone (very bright, Justin Chancellor-esque tone).

A year and a half? How could you stand it?!

:D

I would say it is a matter of taste. Many bass players prefers old strings, and some doesnt change before they break. Some player even use butter on the strings to make them sound more dead..The ones that always screams about changing strings every day is usually people that makes em, sells em or are sponsored in somekind of way.