Sher-wood Pre-cat Clear Lacquer?

tasty

Check this out

Pre Cat Lacquer

I heard this stuff is really great for fast drying, good gloss and durablity. I was going to go with Deft quart can or some other Nitro, but was turned off by long dry time, and limited scuff/abrasion resistance. I am not that concerned about resonance because this is a rebuild strat job, not an acoustic.

I was really curious how this stuff sands/buffs out during the final polishing stage. It seems like a winner product because of the fast dry time and such, but I want to know how it polishes/buffs.

I just may pick some up today because of what limited good things I have heard about it. Just wondering if anyone has any experience about this Sherwin stuff.

Sry i dont have any experiance with this stuff but... I think you might wanna think about something first.

I am by no means an expert but what I seem to have found when doing research about solid body guitar building is that its only a myth that resonance does't matter with them just look around this site and ppl are always talking about the tonal qualities of the wood for the strat copys. So if you want the best sound it seems to be a combo of the body wood, the finishing techniqe, and the pups.

But like I said I am no expert. And besides this place has a lot of ppl experimenting with new stuff so try it mabey it will work great who knows its all what you want not what other ppl think you should have.

I've been real busy so sorry for the delayed response.

I've shot a ton of this stuff. It's a good quality production lacquer primarily intended for the kitchen cabinet industry. A lot of furniture guys swear by it.

You'll definitely get the best results using the vinyl sealer. This stuff does not sand as well as regular lacquer sanding sealer, at least in my experience. Some of the folks here who like to sand to 6000 or so may find it gums the paper even sanding wet.