Pimping My Rg505

Thought I would photodocument and post all of this since I can imagine if I read a similar thread i would laugh. I have no experience with modding guitars/woodwork/anything, I have played for a year and a half on a epi les paul special + a gibson SG. I bought myself a used RG505 (essentially an alder 550 I am told) and i intend to convert it to something (body wise) resembling this mother****er

dreamibanezifneckthru.jpg

Obviously, my finished project will not be as gorgeous, and the neck will be dot inlays, but I am in love with the red flame...phwoar. So I received the guitar today and about 5 minutes after signing the delivery form, it was looking somewhat like this

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f119/9956/DAY0.jpg

update: After checking the neck and neck pocket, I believe this is simply an RG550 (both stamped RG550 in red, serial number F97 35240), Im not particularly bothered, I didnt buy it on the strength of its body wood, although alder would have been a bonus

Later today I will finally get a correctly sized allen wrench and remove the strings.

I anticipate asking a lot of questions on this topic, as I may ask these in other areas of this forum or possiblyt even on UG, I will document the important ones.

My plan is as follows.

Remove all electronics

Strip paint off the body using paintstripper

Drill entirely through the routing for the pots and add a blank piece of wood for the veneer to stick to

I am unsure of the best way to do this, could anyone possibly point me in the direction of rerouting style tutorials?

Fully sand body

Paint back and sides the brightest red I can find

Veneer the front with maple as detailed in the tutorial on PG

Drill new holes for the pots, switches etc

Put a new style (probably Gibson style) switch in

OTHER DESIRES