Attaching Wood To Metal.

Hey,

I'm completely new to guitar making. I've never done it before. I've often thought of making my own musical instruments but I haven't yet got around to it until now. I'd like to make a 12 string guitar with a horn coming out of it. In case you're wondering what the hell I mean, it was inspired by this: http://www.springersmusic.co.uk/Library/In...ophone%20fs.JPG

I'm sure I could follow some instruction book to make the guitar, so my main question is how would I connect the wood to the metal? My assumption would be that I'd have to glue it somehow? Any ideas?

P.S. How cool is Pat Metheny's 42 string Pikasso guitar!

The horn on the violin is to amplify the sound. I can see it being effective on a violin because the violin is played with a bow. This sustains the notes enough to allow continuously strong soundwaves to pass through the length of the horn. I don't see it working all that well on an acoustic guitar because the energy produced by a plucked string isn't enough and dies out too quickly.

well, a guitar can play as loud as a violin, so i don't see how that would affect anything in any way?

Uh, no, it certainly can't, not without amplification. You've clearly never listened to a violin properly. Look, a solo violin can, without problems, fill a concert hall without any amplification. An acoustic guitar cannot, not to the same degree.

Other than looking silly, I'm not sure this would give you much of any sound benefit.

how can a violin be so loud with its little size?