Lacquer-never Again

sveb

I finished what will be my one and only experiment with lacquer. I always thought I was a pretty good painter having shot trucks with Imron, and having a ton of experience around the body shop. I'll never mess with lacquer again. It's too messy, fussy, doesn't like changes in heat or humidity, and takes WAY TOO LONG TO DRY. It doesn't age well, yellows, and isn't durable over the long run. Right now I've got a bass body drying on the bench that I problably won't be able to assemble for 2-3 months. I hate to wait! Next time it's over to my buddy's body shop for a state of the art polyurethane base coat/clear coat job. I can see the point for those who need lacquer for vintage restorations, and those who still cling to the romance of old school lacquer, but for the guitars I like to mess around with, there are no advantages to lacquer whatsoever. I guess I always have to learn the hard way....

We typically use a cure time formula of 2 days per coat for lacquer. It's not neccessary to wait 3 months unless you used a very low solids lacquer.

We typically use a cure time formula of 2 days per coat for lacquer. It's not neccessary to wait 3 months unless you used a very low solids lacquer.

But do you wetsand your guitars after you spray them? If you're going to wetsand you'll want to wait longer than if you don't, to avoid future finish shrinkage.

peace,

russ

sveb,

I've used the water-based lacquer from Stew-Mac.

According to their schedule it's a few hours between coats and a week before polish.

It's worked OK for me.

I'd be interested in hearing other opinions.

Good Luck,

d ward

...I only ask because I noticed some orange peel in this pic:

http://www.tundraman.com/005/Back-Body-Small.JPG

peace,

russ