Flea Market Find

Hi there, all.

My name is Monica, I'm 22 and from deep south texas (15mins from the border), McAllen, Tx to be exact. Anyway, I'm a newbie to the world of guitar repair and building. But I have had a passion for acoustic guitars since I was 12yrs old. My father's only brother, and my favorite uncle, David - died from cancer when I was 12. Six months before he passed, he handed down to me his prized possesin, a beautiful acoustic Ibanez. I taught myself how to play, and have been in love with acoustic guitars ever since. When I was about 14 I found an old beat up classical guitar in my grandmother's storage garage, it was cracked down the front, nicked here and there, and covered with dust. That was the first guitar I stripped and repainted. Being 14 and knowing nothing of the process, I managed with whatever I had available to me. A bit of sandpaper, some glue, and some of my moms old acrylic craft's paint. If nothing else, it turned out to be a great piece of wall art :D Nonetheless, I discovered a new interest. Through high school and beginning college though, I found myself with less time to focus on my new found hobby. Fortunately, thanks to a good friend of mine, it has been rekindled. My friend bought me an old beat up guitar at a flea market and gave it to me for Christmas, so that I could get back to what I really love doing.