Locking Nut Problem

Sorry if this is a dumb question....I've searched the forum and found that it is dumb to use a regular nut with a floyd rose bridge. But what about the opposite? Is there anything wrong with using a neck that has locking nut if there is not a tremelo? Can I remove a neck from a floyd equipped guitar and put in on a body with a tune-o-matic/stopbar setup? I'm a newbie and not sure if this would work..... :D

Edited by shredgtrfan

Sorry if this is a dumb question....I've searched the forum and found that it is dumb to use a regular nut with a floyd rose bridge. But what about the opposite? Is there anything wrong with using a neck that has locking nut if there is not a tremelo? Can I remove a neck from a floyd equipped guitar and put in on a body with a tune-o-matic/stopbar setup? I'm a newbie and not sure if this would work..... :D

Well, it's pretty difficult to tune up a guitar with a locking nut if you don't have fine tuners at the bridge. So you'd need something like this.

But as long as you can fine tune, I don't see a problem. It might be possible to remove the locking nut and replace it with a roller nut, or fill in the holes and use a regular nut too.

The problem, however, comes in trying to mix and match parts --it doesn't always work.

For example, the radius of the bridge needs to match the radius of the neck --so you'd have to correct for this (I guess notching the saddles differently would work?)

And you'll want to make sure that the neck will fit the neck pocket and that the bridge is placed at the proper scale length-- not a big deal if you're building your own body though. But a huge problem if you're trying to fit the neck into an already routed body.