Frustration Overload!

wdwrkr4

I'm a newbie to wiring. I can't get any string sound when I try wiring even just a volume pot to the custum guitar that my son and I just built. If I wire the 2 emg humbuckers directly to the output jack, I get great sound from the guitar. (sans volume and tone control of course). If I try wiring even one pot into the equation, all I get is hum, no string sound at all. At the simplest level I am wiring the white pickup wire to the right tab of the pot the white output to the jack at the middle tab, and the ground to the output jack to the left tab. The black ground from the pickup to the top of the pot. All I get is hum. I don't know what to do! Someone please help!

Thanks,

wdwrkr4

First of all, we need to know what the various wires from your humbuckers are, if you have any literature that came with them, reference that. However, if you've got your pickup wires correctly identified, it seems as though your problem can be fixed by simply soldering a jumper(wire) from the lug that you've got your ground going to, to the back of the pot. As it stands, the pickup's ground wire is not recieving a ground signal, as it is the only wire soldered to the back of the pot.

peace,

russ

First of all, we need to know what the various wires from your humbuckers are, if you have any literature that came with them, reference that. However, if you've got your pickup wires correctly identified, it seems as though your problem can be fixed by simply soldering a jumper(wire) from the lug that you've got your ground going to, to the back of the pot. As it stands, the pickup's ground wire is not recieving a ground signal, as it is the only wire soldered to the back of the pot.

peace,

russ

Thanks, I'm going to try that now and see what happens. It makes sense so I'll let you know. Thanks again.

wdwrkr4

im not an expert with emgs so you may want to look here

but some other things you may want to check are;