Is This Possible ?

Hi, I've decided to pick up some water soluble aniline dyes from LMII and I'm keen to know if it is possible to finish some high grade flame maple in a style similar to a PRS or mikhailgtrski's Warmoth project, but use Tung Oil as the final clear coat rather than nitrocellulose. I'm new to all of this, so for just now I want to avoid nitrocellulose. I have the parts for my Warmoth project coming in the next few feeks, so again, any help is appreciated. Thanks.

No.

You can dye the guitar and finish it with an oil finish, but it will not have the effect of a clear coat, ie: it won't be glossy or have a film finish.

If you want to use an oil type finish, avoid pure tung - it sucks. You can use a finish like danish oil which will give a matt/satin look, or an oil varish like tru-oil, which will give a nice soft gloss, but pure oils are to be avoided - they offer minimal protection, stay sticky for a long time, and never really dry properly.

+1

I'd say nitro is the way to go, although you can get decent results with some of the waterbased lacquers.

But if you've never done any finishing, I suggest you first read some good finishing books and tutorials, find an inexpensive guitar, and practice your technique... Best to make your mistakes (and they will happen) on a throw-away rather than your nice new Warmoth.

Also, if at all possible, get some figured maple scraps for testing your dye method. Again, practice, practice, practice before committing it to the real thing.

Don't rush it! "Patience is a virtue" definitely applies when it comes to guitar finishing.

Mike