How Long Doews It Take You To Build A Guitar?

I've planned to build a guitar this summer. but if I take a closer look at my schedule there's only very little time left for it.

So I just wanted to know how long you usually need to compelte your work. It is my first project but I'll have a friend who will help me and who has a real nice amateur shop. he never built guitars but has a lot of woodworking experience.

so what do you say? don't rush it and do it maybe next year(he probably will only have some time to help me in summer) I have about three weeks left where I am at home and have to do some preparation for my move to a different city in october( I won't move there for ever I will change locations every three months).

I built a "prototype" bass- new original design, and logged 35 hours work. Being a prototype, the finish is not perfect, but good enough. (I gig it regularly). To do it really well I would reckon about 50 hours. I have access to a fair amount of machinery, i.e. planer/thicknesser, bandsaw, router etc., but many of the procedures were new to me.

Eh, I always say plan on twice as much time as you think it should take. I think I could probably knock one out in under week, maybe even a couple of days is put in full ones. Plus however long finishing takes (finishing takes days, but most of that is waiting for a days worth of filler or clear to dry before you spray more, and then waiting for it to dry enough to buff out) But I know I won't ever get one done that fast. I work leisurely, when I have the time, and I don't like working on a guitar for 8 hours if I don't have to, because then it feels like a job.