Lets start!!

Well here goes...

Through lots of consideration, and toying with the idea it is now time to build my first guitar! Over the past month or so i must have looked at every single site available, and i have also read through most of this forum, so now i am here on my knees asking for help! This is my first time....so anything will be appreciated, youll probably see me here asking for help for almost every stage that i go, and you might have to bear with me as i doubt ill be able to be very technical! Ive decided to take each part step by step, and buy what i need for each step as i come to it! Most of the tools it looks like ill need i have available...except specalist tools which i will aquire when i need them:

So i know this topic will have come up probably about a 1000 times....but this is how i intent to start....Im going to build 'almost' a copy of a Les Paul studio, which ive seen in a gorgeous platinum finish which i will probably steal, but will make my own adjustments as i go!

Im playing on starting with the body first of all, then on to the neck as step one! so here are a few questions to start with

1. Firstly does anyone to hand any plans of Les Pauls...i know its been asked before, but i cant easily order them from the net....so if anybody has any to hand they could email, or send for a price that would be amazing

2. Ive been studying the Gibson site for a while now getting some specs and stuff, but they seem very basic on what they tell you about the woods....now does anyone know what exact wood Gibson use for the body and neck....im not bothered about the fingerboard yet.....On the Gibson site, it says there are a front species which is carved maple....and a back species which is mahogany! Now im not an expert on wood at all....is there any specific type of mahogany and maple used.....or if i went into any shop and said i wanted mahogany, would i get the same thing everywhere?