Replacing Humbuckers And Pots

vpcnk

i've bought a gibson hawk and want to replace the humbuckers and change the 300k pots for 500k ones.

my question basically is how easy it is to replace stock pots/humbuckers?

i've never used a soldering iron before.

though i understand the concept having seen it in use.

with a soldering iron we can melt lead or some such soft metal and use the melted metal to connect two pieces of metal - like wires with metal etc - right?

so even if i have never done it before i guess i can experiment with it on some pieces of metal and gain a bit of expertise before actually trying it on my guitar.

i guess that the wiring on the guitar connect to the humbuckers and the pots.

so i would have to use the solder to disconnect the wires from the humbuckers and the pots and reconnect them to the new humbuckers and the pots.

and is there any issue in removing the old humbuckers and pots? are they connected physically to the guitar apart from the wires which connect them?

i checked with guitar center - they want 150 bucks to do this! sam ash wants 125! i think it is highway robbery! the lowest quote i could get was $70 for a midtown nyc used guitar shop.

but if it is not an easy job, i would rather spend the 70 bucks than screw up the guitar.

also i've only heard that the gibson hawk uses 300k pots. how can i identify if the pots are actually 300k?

also the usual prescription of 500k pots for humbuckers, does it apply to both volume and tone pots?

appreciate the feedback.

Have a good practice first, then give it a go, it's a straightforward operation and a really useful skill to acquire if you like playing round with geetars.

The humbuckers will be attached to the pickup mounting rings with [edit] 2 long screws, the mounting rings are attached to the body of the guitar with 4 short ones. Once the mounting rings are unscrewed, the pickups can be gently pulled free. Unsolder the wires at the other end and you've removed them.