Any Tips For Shooting Urethane Guitar Bodies?

Stew

I'm about to start a large shipment of bodies for painting. I'm going with automotive House of Kolor urethane for the finishes. I'm going to do some of the prep work before having my painter shoot the color and clear coats. I'm choosing this because these guitars will need to preserve the artwork and to lower the chance of chipping, fading or yellowing. I'm new to the whole urethane game.

My painter normally shoots custom cars and hot rods. I'll need to rig some sort of body suspension or at least hanger mechanism to hang the bodies for drying (using a handle mounted to the neck pocket).

Any tips I need to keep in mind? I'll be also using transfer decals for some artwork so I'm also wondering if I can use vinyl sealer as my base coat before shooting the urethane color and clear coats.

Any help would be great from you experienced folk.

- Stew

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/Maiden69/DSC02909.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/Maiden69/DSC02031.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/Maiden69/DSC02011.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/Maiden69/DSC01887.jpg

Here are the pics of mine in action. This one is made with a suspension shockabsorber for the rear hatch of cars. I like it because I can secure it to a table and turn the guitar around to shot the paint as the body lay flat (horizontal to the floor, it helps to lay a nice fat coat without runs. If turn the guitar is not of your concern just a 1"PVC pipe heated and flat on one side with 2 holes can be used.

Thanks Maiden69.

Problem is, it's not a garage with suspension beams to hang bodies from ( I usually use a clothing wire hanger wrapped around a beam and use the hole on the paint handle to hang the body from the rafters).

But my guy works in an industrial area with huge vaulted ceilings, nothing to hang things from. He usually props quarter panels to dune buggies on wood braces, nothing hanging.