Hi Everybody!

Marco

Hi Everybody,

my name is Marco and I'm from Italy.

I love guitars and I want to assembly one on my own, the problem is that I have no experience at all...

Is it difficult?

I'd like a Telecaster but I don't know which shape of neck I should buy.

I have an American Standard Strat and feel very confortable with its neck, anyone can tell me which shape is it?

Also, is a Mexican Tele neck a good buy? Or should I go for a Allparts or Warmoth???

Thanks in advance!

Cheers!

Marco

Hi Marco welcome to the fourm

buiding your own guitar takes some practice for sure. if you not sure on what to do this is the place to ask questions. if your think you want to builds from parts.

I would go with warmoth.

they have proven to be of high quality bodies and necks.

if you look around on warmoth web site there is all different neck contours to choose.

same with the bodies you might want a tummy cut on the tele body and they can do that for

you.

good luck to you. :D:D

Edited by prs man

Hi Prs Man and thanks for the prompt reply...

Yes I'd like to build it from parts, certainly not to build it from scratch, too difficult!!!

I've heard great things of Warmoth, but I found some genuine Mex Tele necks on ebay at reasonable prices and was wondering if they're as good as Warmoth's...

Still my problem is to choose the shape of the neck, does anybody know what shape of neck is the one on American Standard Strats like mine (1994)? I feel very confy with it...

My other guitar is a Sheraton II and feel comfortable too, I guess they're both D shaped, right?

See ya and good luck to you too!

Edited by Marco

most newer fender necks have the same profile(what you call the shape) as well as most of the aftermarket reproductions.

there are a few differences, but for plain sake id say you'd be able to play anything you bought..

do you have any woodworking experiance?