Some Cool Yet Funky Maple ...

fyb

I work at Home Depot (hey ... ya gotta make a living :D ) and I ran across this funky piece of maple the other day. It's got some unusual looking (at least to me) figure, so I thoughI'd snag it. Here's some pics ...

hdmaple1ki8.jpg

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/769/hdmaple2jn6.jpg

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/3557/hdmaple3ln4.jpg

I'm pretty sure it's hard maple (it works, feels, and smells quite a bit like the hard maples I've used before though I'm no expert) so I was wondering if I could use it for something guitar related. It has a bit of twist it in it so I can't use the whole board at it's present thickness, but I figured that I could joint & plane it down to a more managble thickness and flatten it out.

It looks like it's sorta birdseyed, but with hints of quilting (sort of) and almost 'fishscale' patterns. I though't it'd make a crazy looking fretboard if it'd be stable enough. It's almost like it'd be birdseyes if it were farther out from the center of the tree. It's neither flat/rift/quartered ... you can see a part of the growth rings' arc like it was only 5-7" from the center.

What do you think? Is it usable?

Thats what you call Popcorn Quilt

and yes it is most likely hard ....Good Find

and yes it is very useable. and depending on how bad the twist and can be removed on a joiner

but you dont say it dimentions so i could not say

Edited by spazzyone

Thats what you call Popcorn Quilt

and yes it is most likely hard we have a bunch of that stuff....Good Find

and yes it is very useable. and depending on how bad the twist and can be removed on a joiner

but you dont say it dimentions so i could not say

Cool!

Here's another pic I tweaked a bit to make it look a little more like it does in person.

popcornmb0.jpg