Thanks Drak

ginner

Hi, I got a peice of burl maple from frasier valley fine woods (look below this paragraph) but I've never worked with burl before and was hoping drak or anyone else could help me out. I was just wondering the best way to fill in the incursions, and if Id need a CA bath, which products to use, how to do it, etc. Also I was hoping drak would be able to tell me how to stain the top to be very similar to his magma attack body, cus that thing REALLY kicks ass. I am gonna finish it with the stewmac colortone waterbase cleargloss topcoat, clear sealer, and grain filler (if i need it ).

ea86_3.JPG

Also as a side note I will be using one of doug from soulmate guitars necks... They are REALLY awesome. Here is a project ive already started with one of his necks.

Here are some pics of it,

before i started work :

http://img9.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=8...0_122_466lo.JPG

after glueing and rough shaping:

http://img129.imagevenue.com/img.php?image...4_122_598lo.JPG

after the carve and some routes

http://img161.imagevenue.com/view.php?imag...1_122_563lo.JPG

after one quick coat of tru oil, just to see what it will look like when im ready to finish it (you can notice my DISGUSTINGLY messy routes, but they will be covered, and im not drak so it wont be WOD'd :D :

http://img22.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=...8_122_413lo.JPG

I dont have any pics of the heel yet, its mostly done but can use some work so ill post those when its all finished.

the specs are basically 7 string neck thru with stainless steel frets, flame maple neck with bubinga lams, pao ferro baord, walnut back with zebrawood top (carved) dimarzio tone zone and air norton 7, 7 string hardtail bridge, all gold hardware, schaller mini locking tuners, graphite nut. finished in tru oil from head to toe. Ill post some final pics when its all done.

also here is a pic of some quilted maple i will be using that i also got from frasier valley. :