Needing Help Fixing A Crack In Lacquer.

I put down too many coats too heavy on my headstock and the lacquer cracked after a few weeks of cure time.

I mixed lacquer and thinner at a 50% - 50% ratio to drop fill into the crack. Right/wrong?

Is there anything I need to do before starting?

Give me some tips so I don't mess this up any further.

This is my first build so these problems are expected. I'm learning what NOT to do on the next build along the way but any help is apprecieated.

man,i really don't know for sure so i am just talking out of my ass here...but laquer has a 100% burn in between coats,so i think that is how you normally would do it...

BUT the last time i sprayed laquer too thick,it cracked a little bit at first,but then like 6 months later it really went crazy...now it is cracked over the entire body....if it is just your headstock that is a very small area,so i would just sand it down and redo it with thinner coats

Here's a picture of the problem:

P1000610.jpg

As you can see there is a crack in the shape of the Nike "Swoosh" above the artwork. I have started working on it by making a 50 - 50 mixture of lacquer and lacquer thinner and drop filled it into the crack. I can see that it has melted into the lacquer because the crack is now wider and not so deep. It is starting to fill the area in. I then let it dry and drop filled some grain filler into the remaining crack and it has been drying since last yesterday evening. I may give it until tomorrow to dry before sanding flat and putting a THIN coat of lacquer on it to level back up. After this I should be on my way! (I hope).

Any help on this would be great! Am I going about this the right way? It seems to be working... so far.