Another Variation Of Round Peg In Square Hole

Newbie question... I'm putting together a strat-type guitar using a new body and used neck, both bought on e-bay. This is my first attempt at anything like this. I measured the nut to 12th fret distance, and it's 12.75". Also the 12th fret to bridge distance, and it's 12.75". So, hopefully, intonation won't be a problem? The fingerboard looks about the right height above the body, relative to the bridge and where the pickups will sit. But the end of the neck is rounded, and the routed pocket is square, so there are gaps in the corners... not good? Should I use a filler (like I'd use to snug fit a rifle's action to the stock) to get a better fit? Or leave the gaps there, covered by the pickguard? Or... ??? Any help much appreciated.

As long as the intonation is correct, those gaps aren't a problem.

Just in case-- the scale you want should be measured on the High E side from the front edge of the nut (i.e., where the string leaves the nut) to the High E saddle (not to the edge of the bridge).

It's worth double-checking to make sure.

Weird that a strat-style body has a squared pocket.

Thanks for the advice.

I was surprised that neck and body didn't match better. Like I said the neck is a Johnson, but the end looks the same shape as the one on my Fender. The body isn't actually the one shown by the seller (MusicValue) on eBay but the neck pockets look the same. (This one came with a bridge and jack already installed - nice! So, I'm certainly not going to complain.)

Just the corners of the pockets are rounded but the end of the neck has a nice, gentle radius all the way across. As long as it doen't matter, I'll just fit it tight in the middle and shim the sides (very slightly to get a real tight fit that way. I'm also going to have to fill existing screw holes and re-drill to get a good match. I plan on glueing wooden pins in to the old holes.