Truss Rods

I know someone is going to say 'Search Feature' but i have used that and im just getting more confused. This is my first build and im regretting the decision to build the neck.

Anyway my problem is that i have bought a single action truss rod, it is sqare not U-Shaped. Now everywhere i look i am being told that i need to route a curved channel which makes sense, but when i rang up David Dyke's i explained that i was an idiot and that this is my first project and asked him to suggest a truss rod. He suggested the single action one that i bought saying that its easy to fit because i dont need to route a curved channel.

SO now my brain hurts :D

Can anybody help me, are they any tutorials preferably which pictures.

Sorry for being so dumb, Adam. :D

I know someone is going to say 'Search Feature' but i have used that and im just getting more confused. This is my first build and im regretting the decision to build the neck.

Anyway my problem is that i have bought a single action truss rod, it is sqare not U-Shaped. Now everywhere i look i am being told that i need to route a curved channel which makes sense, but when i rang up David Dyke's i explained that i was an idiot and that this is my first project and asked him to suggest a truss rod. He suggested the single action one that i bought saying that its easy to fit because i dont need to route a curved channel.

SO now my brain hurts :D

Can anybody help me, are they any tutorials preferably which pictures.

Sorry for being so dumb, Adam. :D

Give us a link or show us a picture of your truss rod. Some use square routes, and some use rounded.

Ok here are some pictures, from your wording tho i think you miss understand me. I understand that because the truss rod is square i need a sqare rod channel, but i do not know if i need a curved (deeped in the middle than at the ends) channel or just a flat channel because the man at David Dykes said i didnt need a curved channel.

truss 1

truss 2

truss 3