Floyd Rose Licensing Question

P90

Suppose a luthier buys a FR trem from Stewmac or wherever to mount on a guitar that he's building and will try to sell (public "gallery" sale, not a custom-private sale)

Now suppose he has the ability in his shop to machine out of DelrinAF (teflon) the saddles and the nut (just the "cradle" part of the nut, not the clamps).

The point is that the places where the strings come in contact, the metal parts are replaced by Delrin AF... not unlike what Graphtech is sorta doing.

Its still mostly the same FR trem he bought from Stewmac/wherever... but with his own custom shop DelrinAF saddles and nut "cradle".

Is there a licensing issue with Floyd Rose now?

I am by no means an expert in licensing issues but it seems to me that if you advertise that it is a modified Floyd Rose, you have covered your @$$. When you buy the parts, you have the intrinsic permission to use them. As long as you don't mislead the buyer into thinking it is what it is not, you should be OK. A quick email to the manufacturer might be the easiest way to glean the correct information.

Peace...Rog

My first question is why make a locking nut out of a slippery material. The idea is to lock the strings in place so they can't move. The Graphtec nut allows the strings to slide with less binding, just like Delrin would. So it kind of defeats the purpose of a locking nut.

As to the licensing issue, I think it would be similar to dealing with copied body shapes. If you stay small and not enought to be noticed, no one will care. If you start selling enough, you'll get a cease and desist letter. If you want to come up with something new, I would try and redesign it to make it unique so that there is no licensing conflicts, and you can also lay claim to it and patent the idea.