Newbie With A Problem!

Hello all

Im pretty new to this game and would like some advice on a project that I thought would be pretty straightforward to something that is becomng a bit of a disaster. I decided to have a go at assembling a Strat style guitar for my son from various components (some used -some new) that I managed to obtain over a couple of months. I found a strat style body already fitted with a single schaller humbucker and routed for a Kahler 2300 style tremolo (The original owner had fitted a Kahler). I obtained a nice quality 22 fret maple Strat type neck which fitted perfectly and managed to obtain a kahler tremolo which fitted into the route and lined up well with the original screw holes. I fitted some vintage gotoh locking tuners and finished the guitar in an EVH early frankenstein scheme as my twelve year old is a great Eddie fan. All great- except I now have a problem with the scale length? The guitar is impossible to intonate as it would appear that the bridge/trem unit is too far forward as the saddles are at their rearmost limit and the 12th fret notes are all sharp with no further adjustment available. Why should this have happened? Did the original guitar have a shorter scale neck do you think? Would this make a difference? I am sorry for my ignorance in these things , but any help and advice would be gratefully received. Thankyou

Did the original guitar have a shorter scale neck do you think? Would this make a difference?

It could have, and it would make a difference.

What is the length from the fretboard side of the nut to the saddles?

Hi Rick

Thanks for the reply. from fret side of the nut to the rollers on the kahler is 25". I dont think that is correct.

now, what is the distance from the fret side of the nut to the center of the 12th fret. if its 12.5" it is the right scale, if its 12.75" you have the wrong scale neck, the one you have is 25.5" and you need a 25"scale neck. or the kahler was installed wrong.