Nashville Tele Wiring Help Needed

bscur

I wired up a Nashville style tele todat and the tone knob isn't working. Any idea what this could be due to? I checked and double checked diagram (http://www.fender.com/support/diagrams/pdfs/DLXNASHTELE/SD0135300BPg2.pdf) right off Fender's website. The guitar sounds very bright and the tone pot does nothing. I rewired it twice using different pots. I'm using a fralin neck, sp42 middle, and an sp43 bridge pickup. Could it be the pickups? This confuses me because I've never had this happen before and I've wired up a number of guitars. Help.

Could be the pickups... but probably not. A tone pot will still have SOME effect, as long as it's in the general ballpark of guitar-rated pots and caps. :D

A tone pot just bleeds signal to ground. You have to make sure that the lug with the capacitor on it is making its way to ground or nothing will happen.

Er..

It should be mentioned that I'm not a wiring expert. Without this disclaimer, the above instructions might seem to authoritative... I'm just a guitar numpty. :D

No. The diagram didn't show ground going from the volume to the tone pot if you mean not on a lug, just from one dome to the next. Should I do that? Obviously I just connect the dots without much knowledge of why (I suppose I should learn).

I'll give it a shot.

Thanks,

Brad

Did you run a ground wire between the vol and tone pot casings?
Edited by bscur

Let me just confirm:

You have the capacitor only going from one pot casing to the next pot casing? Won't work. It has to be attached to one of the tone knob's lugs. Can't remember offhand which one.

Greg

I have the cap going from the tone lug to the volume lug and then to the volume casing, as per the Fender diagram. I don't have a separate wire going strictly from casing to casing. Here's the diagram I used:

http://www.fender.com/support/diagrams/pdf...5300_02BPg2.pdf

The result is a very bright tone and no tone knob functionality at all.

Let me just confirm: