Relicing, An Art?...or Just Trashing Your Guitar

From searching a lot of forums and seeing many posts I've noticed there is a lot of controversy over relicing ones guitar. I can see the side of not wanting to trash a nice new finish, but I myself am a large advocate for relicing. I've been restoring vintage guitars for many years and this is originally where relicing came into mind. The owners didn't always want the "fresh off the factory line" look so they request it to look 50 years old. Eventually people started wanting new guitars to look 50 years old because of the hefty price tag a original guitar will run and if AND THATS A BIG IF you could get your hands on a original guitar most would be hesitant to take it out of its case let alone play it.

The problem comes in when people take a belt sander to a guitar and call it a SRV replica and put a huge price tag on it, to me that’s bogus. I've been making replica vintage guitars for people for some time now and it is completely an art because I take everything into consideration when aging a guitar. I don’t finish a guitar and than take a screwdriver to it, or sand down the contour and call it arm wear. That’s where relicing the "art" is separated from just trashing your guitar.

I say if your wanting the vintage look and feel go for it, but don’t forget that its not all random dings. Look at some pics of real vintage guitars, replicate what you see and remember anything involving the making of a guitar is an art from the design all the way to the finish.