Alternate Ways To Do Bindings

what are some alternate ways to do a binding other than using strips of plastic?

i'm trying to do a black binding on a white body.

I was thinking maybe just use a black tape, or paint the binding area black over the primer, then mask the binding area and paint the rest of the body white and peel the masking tape to reveal a black strip.

would either way work well?

what are some alternate ways to do a binding other than using strips of plastic?

I was thinking maybe just use a black tape, or paint the binding area black over the primer, then mask the binding area and paint the rest of the body white and peel the masking tape to reveal a black strip.

I'd say paint is better than tape....but what's wrong with plastic`?

too much work/time consuming and it's my first time doing bindings, second time refinishing. :D

too much work/time consuming and it's my first time doing bindings, second time refinishing. :D

Routing and gluing?...wouldn't take much more time than masking and painting...But that's depending on bodystyle though..

In the end no-one's gonna ask how long it took...they're just gonna see the results.

Routing and gluing?...wouldn't take much more time than masking and painting...But that's depending on bodystyle though..

In the end no-one's gonna ask how long it took...they're just gonna see the results.

true... but if i do it the traditional way i'm gonna have to scrape off the protruding sides and stuff too right? or at least that's how the stewmac tutorial seemed... time consuming and very tedious. since it's only my second time refinishing and first time planning on doing a binding, I don't want to stress it and mess up in the middle.

perhaps I should do a test piece...