Wood Identificaton Help

I've got a load of these three woods, and me not being able to identify anything other than maple and mahogany, don't know what they are!

I'm thinking (hoping) the first one is rosewood of some kind, and the third one maybe alder, but I have no clue to the second one, despite using it for a fingerboard!

Any help in enlightening me would be greatly appreciated!

P1010119-1.jpg

P1010127.jpg

P1010128.jpg

Edited by Masina

thats 2 for walnut. i had some very similar wood a few years ago.

2 - emm, maybe ash if it is a hardwood. maybe its redwood or pine if a softwood. you can tell by the smell and resin content.

3 - it does look like alder

I'm not an expert, but I'll venture a guess that the first is walnut. The second I am no sure, but I want to say it looks a lot like pine. The third looks like it could be alder, but could also be poplar that is light on mineral streaks.

Walnut eh? I didn't think of that. The second one definatly isn't pine, its harder than oak, plus the colouring is brighter than the picture shows.

First one looks a great deal like Walnut.

Second one is most definitely a hard wood because of the pores - A hardwood Pine or American Ash.

Last one is tricky, is it fully dry and very dense? If so, I'm thinking Yellowheart, but there are a couple other possibilities.

Yeah, I agree with everyone with walnut for the first one, before reading the responses that was my guess as well.

here's a link to black walnut which your wood looks close to Black walnut

The second one I have no idea, it really looks similar to tulipwood, but your piece probably had properties that exclude tulipwood, never-the-less thats what first came to mind, though doubtful it is, especially because the pale colored area looks a little too pale unless it was the sap wood, but then you wouldn't have the streaks through it like that, I dunno, look cool though. Tulipwood