Another Radius Block Jig?

Xanthus

http://www.rockler.com/tech/RTD10000352AA.pdf

I was browsing around the Rockler website and stumbled upon this jig contraption. Immediately, the first thing my mind jumped to was "RADIUS BLOCK!"

I'm not a big pro at trigonometry/geometry/math in general, but I didn't know if someone would find the method, at least, adaptable to use as a radius block maker. I dunno if it'll work, but I figured I'd pass it along to some other minds out there. Enjoy :D

Neat idea in general, but I'm not sure you could use it to practically make a radius block. A table-saw disc is usually 8 or 10 inches in diameter itself, meaning that if you approached it completely perpendicularly, you'd get a 4 or 5 inch radius block. Approaching at an angle like the Rockler sheet will produce an even tighter curve that will not have a consistent circular radius.

Still, neat that people come up with this stuff... thinking outside the box rules.

That was the main snag that was running around in my head, that the blade wouldn't be big enough. Eh, I like the idea, though. Maybe a violin fretboard, or some smaller guitar-type :D

People should start investing in 32" saw blades, so I can make some radius blocks.

Looks like you still might have a fair bit of sanding to do after though. I had a go at the Safe-T-Planer method last weekend, I couldn't believe how rediculously simple it is and it works flawlessly, I turned a stick of scrap pine into an accurate 20" long radius block in minutes!

I like to keep things simple. My hot water tank is 10" radius, stick some sandpaper to it and attack it with a block of wood. Slide it up and down until one side fully comforms to the curve and repeat with finer grits. Maybe one afternoon I'll visit a place that supplies various sized water pipes, barrels or whatever, with a bunch of wood and make a variety of radius blocks. They'd probably think I'm nuts. :D

Edited by Southpa

:D

@ OZ - Genius!

@ Southpa - Crazy!