Convert Hifi Amp To Guitar Amp

Jozer99

I'm considering building a tube amp as a project. I'm a decent woodworker, and have SOME electronics experience. I wire my own guitars, and have built a few effects pedals. Seeing as I'm no electrical engineer, and since tube amps have a tendency to store large amounts of electricity laying in wait for the uneducated technician's fingers, I thought it might be a good idea to buy an enclosure-less amp from eBay and build my own cabinet. Looking at the prices, I see that tube amps from record players or PA systems are much cheaper than dedicated guitar amps. After doing some research online, I have found many websites with different opinions on what is necessary to convert such an amp for guitar use, and how the resulting amp will sound.

Anyway:

1. Is it a realistic goal to convert a "HiFi" tube amp into a guitar amp?

2. Is it necessary to modify the amplifier's circuitry to achieve a decent sound?

3. If it is worth it to do this conversion project, what features should I look for in a "HiFi" or PA amp that would make it good for this project?

4. I'm looking to build a practice/very small gig amp, I am assuming that means 15W - 30W. Is this a good power level for that goal?

5. How difficult would it be to add a 3 band EQ to the amp?

Thanks!

Edited by Jozer99

The preamp for a guitar amp is different than for a hi-fi amp. There is no reason why you cannot convert one to the other, but one would need to work with the circuit to see what to change. I think it would be easier to build a guitar amp from a kit than to convert a hi-fi amp. Have you looked at the AX84.com site? Or search for guiatar amp kits.