How Do I Finish My Body

mesadualrec

Hi Its my first post here guys

Im a resident member at the ernie ball and mesa boogie forum

but,

They dont specialize in building guitar talk really

so thought I would be best asking here :D

Im just about to buy a guitar body from a friend,its an Ibanez JPM style from monster guitar.

It has a 3 quarter inch flame maple top on an alder body,and Im told it looks fantastic!!!

here's my question;

I want to finish the guitar myself as its both pleasing and cost effective

What I want to do is either finish it in a bright pink/purple stain and the tung oil it

or

Just tung oil it and leave it natural

whats the best way to do this

I read that you need to apply a black stain first off and sand it or something to that effect,but do you just sand it so the Flames/tops are present and are more 'highlighted' than the darker patches between the flames

and then apply the tung oil,and how should I go about that

I thank you in advance

any help is MUCH appreciated

I hope to use this site ALOT in the future

thanks guys

Hi Its my first post here guys

Im a resident member at the ernie ball and mesa boogie forum

but,

They dont specialize in building guitar talk really

so thought I would be best asking here :D

Im just about to buy a guitar body from a friend,its an Ibanez JPM style from monster guitar.

It has a 3 quarter inch flame maple top on an alder body,and Im told it looks fantastic!!!

here's my question;

I want to finish the guitar myself as its both pleasing and cost effective

What I want to do is either finish it in a bright pink/purple stain and the tung oil it

or

Just tung oil it and leave it natural

whats the best way to do this

I read that you need to apply a black stain first off and sand it or something to that effect,but do you just sand it so the Flames/tops are present and are more 'highlighted' than the darker patches between the flames

and then apply the tung oil,and how should I go about that