Guitar Shop Scam?

PhantomThief

A few days ago, I asked if a 25K pot is absolutely necessary for an active pickup, and it was a resounding yes from you guys. However, I just called my local guitar tech and he said, "Oh, we'll just hook it up to the original pots on the guitar. The ones that come with the set, you just keep for spare."

Is he trying to fool me or is it possible?

I am no expert but everything I have read would suggest that standard pots simply won't work. A friend of mine had problems with an EMG81 active pickup he had installed many years ago....was crackling and fading in and out etc. In our wisdom we thought "let's try a 250k pot and see if that fixes it!"....well we got nothing, no sound, nothing. I then read up on EMG's website and found out that they have to be 25k......also discovered a wiring mistake from the original install, rewired it and it worked like new.

Just my 2cents worth but as I say, I am no expert. :D

EMG requires a 25K, Seymour Duncan requires a 125K and some others require a 50K pot. A 250K will work (as in produce audible sound) but your pickups will sound very poor. EMG pickups already sound shrill but a 250 or 500K pot would make them sound broken.

As for the jack, it’s necessary for switching the pickup on. If you leave your jack plugged into the guitar 24/7 your battery will drain quickly. That’s why you have to unplug the guitar when you are finished with it. It connects the pickup to the battery. Last I heard, that means it’s basically used as an on switch!

Sorry to save but most Guitar Center Guitar techs and in a lot of cases, your mom and pop places aren’t really up on active electronics. In fact, I have three places in my area and none of them will install actives.