Power Supply

daveq

Does anyone know what is typically used for guitars with LED inlays? I am plannig on putting in some LED's for the side dot markers. After doing some calculations, the power consumption looks pretty nasty. Unless I did them wrong, the battery will drain quite quickly.

So I was wondering if anyone has ever seen one / owned one and could tell me what type of battery (or batteries) is normally used.

The SIMS site doesn't seem to provide much info on what is actually put into your guitar and I'm not aware of any other companies that do this.

Thanks,

Dave

I've got no experience of the real thing, but I'd say 2 9v batteries in parallel should do the trick.

I did some calculations on this stuff to see what you could have come up with, and I found LEDs which required 20mA of current. Assuming you've got 12 LEDs (one for each "dotted" fret, two on 12 and 24), that means a total of 240mA current. A normal 9v battery gives 580mAh (according to the EMG website), which should then last about 2.5h. It is however very much possible that I've overlooked something.

What would you use this for? If you're going to use it when practicing, I can see it would be a bitch to change batteries that often, but if you're only going to use it when gigging and such, I can't really see the problem.