Wondering Where To Start

hey guys!

im new at this but i've been wanting to do this kind of thing for a long time but i have some questions.

anyways, here are my plans. i have been planning on buying old guitars from pawnshops, junkyards, or cragislist for cheap and restoring them to top-notch quality condition and selling them for as a couple grand. my old music teacher knew a guy who did the same thing which inspired me to do it. after a few guitars for practice and profit, im planning on building my own completely from scratch tailored to my needs. i've got a book by Martin Oakham called Build Your Own Electric guitar which seems pretty good and ive been reading through it. but the only problem is that i don't know how the guitars are supposed to turn out. i basically, don't know what a truly great guitar is. i know that i want them to feel smooth and sound thick and have bite while still being able to sound clean, but i have no idea how to do that and how to make absolute sure that it is good.

could you help me guys? any help will do!

Edited by sirhagorshack

Well, to me you've got 2 things going on here; restoration and scratch building. One is basically building from parts, the other involves real woodworking.

To learn what makes a guitar SOUND great, you really have to become a student of music. Not in the formal sense, but in terms of listening to good guitar songs classic and modern, being able to have the ear to pick out the guitar parts and tell how they are different from each other in tone and attack, then do some digging to find out what kind of instruments were used, what kinds of wood they were made of, what kinds of pickups and amps/effects were used to get those sounds. Pretty soon, you really should be able to hear a song and tell when a Les Paul, Strat or Tele was being used...same can go for basses too (ie it is sometimes easy to pick out a Rickenbacker from a Fender Jazz from a Stingray).