Guitar Repair

Hello, first post here. I was refered here by another forum member for my repair question. Looks like a great resource so I'll be reading over the forums a bit too.

Anyways the guitar is a store bought classical that suffered a crack at the base of the headstock and travels along the center where the tuning posts are. It is all the way through up to the second post, and continues up to the third post where it is not all the way across. Here is a photo of the headstock and one of the guitar.

http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa254/S.../crackLarge.jpg

http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa254/S...ssicalLarge.jpg

Anyways I'm new to repair but I'd like to do this myself, I work at a hardware store so I have access to whatever clamps, glue, and tools I may need.

Thanks.

From your description of the break and the pic, does it run from the bottom of the headstock to the side and the first tuning peg, then from the first tuning peg to the second one but from the inside to the outside of the head,

If it is running between the shafts (dowels) of the tuning pegs then it may be a case of the holes needing to be "eased" a little, being that the shafts may be a little to big for the holes causing pressure and the break.

If this is the case then I would remove the row of machine heads, open the break without causing it to split anymore, fill the crack with wood glue (preferably Titebond original) although a good wood glue should suffice, clamp the repair, leave for 24 hours.

When you have done that push the shafts through the holes to see how easilly or difficult they go through. It should be a snug fit so that they don't move about or bind as they go through. If there is any binding a light sanding of the holes to relieve the binding should do the trick.

It's worth waiting to see what Setch has to say on this as well before you go any further unless it is apparent that what I said is the problem

Edited by jaycee