I'm An Idiot. (pickup Install)

Vultite

So I finally got EMGs for my Epiphone Les Paul. I took out all of the butchered korean electronics out of the guitar. The guitar had nothing left in it.

So I get this "Zakk Wylde" set because it supposedly comes with extra stuff than just buying each pick up alone. I was told in the store "this box has everything you need to install the pickups." so I open the box up and the first thing I notice is that the guy behind the counter was simply wrong. It didn't have a new switch. It didn't have a lot of wire either.

I happen to have a new switch because the original made-in-korea one broke in half. This is the one I currently own.

I didn't think I would have to reuse my original guitar wire to install these pickups. So now I've cut the original wires out and they're too short to reach.

So I guess I've got to buy cable. I have no electronics background to speak of. I have no idea what cable to buy. I have to order it online because none of the shops around here carry any.

You say you've been to StewMac, so what's wrong with ordering their wiring kit?

If you threw away all of the electronics BEFORE having your new parts in hand, that wasn't the best move.

And PS. The ZW kit doesn't come with a switch :D

The wire that it comes with is the Quick Connect wire that clips right onto the pickup. If THAT is too short for ya, then you've got some other sort of problem.

I see nothing wrong with ordering the StewMac bare wiring kit and installing it yourself. All the wiring instructions are right there. If you really don't have confidence in your capabilities, track down a luthier or go to the Man and have Him install them for you.

::EDIT::

I'm also surprised that none of the stores around you have the right wire. You don't need to get boutique wire for your setup, just go down to Home Depot or an electronics store and get the same kind of wire that StewMac sells.