Citrus / Citristripper Finish Removal.

Telesque

Ever since (maybe even before) I started playing my newest electric, I've had a hankerin' to go about refinishing and moding my old axe. Last week I decided to go for it. I grabbed it by the neck, climbed up onto the counter and did a flying leap and swung it as hard as I- Ok, no. I just took it apart. :D

I've been sanding down the neck, and tonight I just started the body. Or I thought I had started the body, at least.

The fam is out of the house for a couple week, and it's hella cold outside (and no heated garage :D ). I decided to use an environmentally friendly biodegradable, non-flammable, non-vaporous 'citrus' stripped that said it would strip oil or latex based paint, varnish, shellac, poly, etc, etc, would stay workable for 24 hours, and would, in that time, strip down through multiple layers. Using a product like this, I could safely do the stripping in the house.

Step #1: Slop it on with a paintbrush

Step #2: Wait 30 minutes, then check to see if paint/lacquer/whatever has become able to scrape.

That was about four hours ago, and the only part of the finish that's coming up so far is where I'd test-sanded a little on the back and on the inside of the rear trem cavity where the paint is horribly thin anyways. Not much of that is coming up either, really.

Has anyone else ever used/heard of this stuff? Did it work for you? Would you trade an overnight wait time for the stated advantages?

I'm afraid that the environmentally friendly stuff is frequently laughed at by older electric guitars. Between the multi-layered poly clear coat and the 1/4" teflon sealer, you can face a major challenge. Probably some form of toxic waste would be the easiest :D