Will This 2hb Wiring Scheme Work?

Skiritai

Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum (and wiring mods, but I think I'm starting to get it) and I was hoping someone could take a look at this wiring scheme:

wiring_chart_phasing.gif

It's a modification of this 21-sound scheme for 2 Humbuckers; I added a second pot for individual HB tone control and a switch to toggle the HBs in/out of phase (SW4), which should bring the number of possible combinations to 42. Did I get the phasing scheme right?

I also plan to merge the tone pots with SW3 & SW4 using push/pull DPDT switches (SW3 push = HBs in parallel; SW4 push = HBs in phase). Anything I should know before I do that?

The HBs are Seymour Duncan Invaders on a lower-end Epiphone SG (other mods: scalloped frets 17-22, removed pickguard, deeper cutaway, roller nut & bridge, Bigsby B500 vibrato, Grover locking tuners).

Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I can't comment on if it'll work or not - I'm not an electrician. What I can do is tell you about my experiences.

My main ax:

2 Bartoloni HBs, both wired with a series/paralell switch

phase switch

3-position blade switch

1 volume

1 tone

This effectively gives me 12 separate tones.

It's not all it's cracked up to be. The variation of the tones are sometimes so subtle that you sometimes can't tell the difference. Don't get me wrong - if you're doing a tone comparison & switching back & forth listening for the change, it's there. In reality, it's a completely different story. The difference just isn't enough to warrant the wiring in some instances. And this is with 12 tones. Bump it to 21, or 42 if your wiring works...

I'm going to guess that the tonal difference between a HB wired in series and a coil-tapped HB is so minimal that it would need to be pointed out to be noticed. Add in a couple of effects and you might as well not even have the option.