What's Your Opinion On Top Contours?

Hi, i'm fairly new to guitar building, and all of the guitars i've built (mostly les paul style,lp custom, lp special, blueshawk) have had flat tops... at first this was because i was intimidated by the thought of carving a top... but now that i can carve a top that will suffice, i actually prefer the flat top... i like the way it looks, and plays and almost every aspect of this... but i still do appreciate a really nice carved top... actually i have this book "the guitar handbook" by ralph denyer... and it says that the first les paul customs were actually flat tops... but other than this book i've never heard of that... anyway, i'm just asking what your guys 'opinions' are on the choice of a flat top or a carved top and why... oh yeah and just off the subject a bit... on some les paul specials' with a single cutaway the fretboard is flush to the body but it's got a tune-o-matic and somehow the top appears to be flat? how is the possible, is the body actually tapered very slightly at the same angle as the neck? or is the lower bout tapered slightly to lower the bridge height in relation to the neck... or am i just totally wrong and the body just isn't flat at all? anyway, sorry if this is confusing... i'd just like to know what other builders' preference is on the subject... thanks, jonny

I prefer a carved top, or at least a bevel for comfort. I prefer a flat-top for ease of build. Rounding the edges over (a la a stratocaster) does help, but it's just not as comfortable to me. It's a toss-up, and I usually end up going with what suits the aesthetic of the build.

The flat-top LPs I've seen are one of two ways -

1) with the fretboard raised to meet the string height of the tune-o-matic and no neck angle. (This is horribly uncomfortable for me doing anything other than jazz playing, as I tend to mash my big paws into the sides of the strings and cut my knuckles.