Stained Fretboard Question

I am thinking about using a maple fretboard, stained black but with the areas that would normally have markers dots stained red instead. I know this may be unclear, so I will try to explain it with a half-assed diagram (starting at the nut)

{}{}{}{}{}

Does this make sense and does anyone think that it would work? Im totally new to this, so any feedback would be appreciated

I am thinking about using a maple fretboard, stained black but with the areas that would normally have markers dots stained red instead. I know this may be unclear, so I will try to explain it with a half-assed diagram (starting at the nut)

{}{}{}{}{}

Does this make sense and does anyone think that it would work? Im totally new to this, so any feedback would be appreciated

If you stain the whole fret (the space between the frets) that would work fine, without any bleedings.

one thing you could do, is try to find some red dots and inlay them on the stained fb.

I see no reason that it wouldn't work. And if you have the fret slots cut first you wouldn't get any bleed through to the next space. The only place you will get some issue is on the side of the board. Or you could use dyed lacquer and will not have any bleeding problems. Soft maple is cheap enough, get a piece and start testing.

I see no reason that it wouldn't work. And if you have the fret slots cut first you wouldn't get any bleed through to the next space. The only place you will get some issue is on the side of the board. Or you could use dyed lacquer and will not have any bleeding problems. Soft maple is cheap enough, get a piece and start testing.

It seems logical, to me, that if you cut the fret slots, then stain the board, then taper it, you'll get the least amount of bleeding problems. You could always cover edge bleed-through with some binding work. :D

{}{}{}{}{}